Sarah Jane Shiels

Lighting & Set Designer

Sarah Jane Shiels’ lighting design for Dublin Oldschool jumped out, as it was a massive feat to do what she did, effectively, and stylishly light an empty stage. Sarah Jane found a way to be able to sculpt the air around the two performers to create mood after mood.

SJ began designing lighting in Dublin Youth Theatre, completing a BA in Drama and Theatre Studies 2006 (Trinity), and the Rough Magic Seeds3 programme 2006 – 2008.  From 2010 – 2017, she was co-artistic director of WillFredd Theatre. 
Lighting designs include Sure Look It, Fuck It (This Is Pop Baby), Close Quarters (Out of Joint/Sheffield Crucible), FRNKNSTN, Mr Foley the Radio Operator (Theatre Lovett), Dolores, Soldier Still, Dusk Ahead (Junk Ensemble), East Belfast Boy/Everyday I Wake Up Hopeful (Prime Cut), Radio Rosario (Little John Nee), Jimmy’s Hall, The Remains of Maise Duggan, Town is Dead (Abbey Theatre), Dublin Oldschool (Project Arts Centre), Woman Undone, This Beach, Have I No Mouth, The Blue Boy, Silver Stars (Brokentalkers). Portrait of the Artist as a Young Man, Midsummer Night’s Dream, The Effect, Everything Between Us, The Critic, The House Keeper, Plaza Suite (Rough Magic), PALS (Winner Irish Times Theatre Award Best Lighting 2015), The Boys of Foley Street, Laundry, World’s End Lane, Basin (ANU Productions).
Set and Lighting Designs include, BEES!, Jockey, CARE, Farm, Follow (WillFredd Theatre), How to Keep an Alien (Sonya Kelly/Rough Magic), It Folds (Junk Ensemble/Brokentalkers, Winner Irish Times Theatre Award Best Lighting 2015)

PQ2019 Productions


Project Arts Centre, Dublin

Writter Emmet Kirwan
Director Phillip McMahon
Performers Emmet Kirwan and Ian Lloyd Anderson
Lighting Designer Sarah Jane Shiels
Sound Designer Ivan Birthistle
Produced by Cian O’Brien & Claire O’Neill for Project Arts Centre, Dublin

Photography Ros Kavanagh

This work was developed as part of Show in a Bag (2014), an artist development initiative of Dublin Fringe Festival, Fishamble: The New Play Company and Irish Theatre Institute.